CHEATING OF IMPERIA NRI CUSTOMER BY HDFC BANK USING FORGERY, FRAUD & TOXIC PRODUCTS

REF: Mumbai Police Station Complaint No. Iw.18/Email/15 Dated June 29, 2015

My name is Samar Chatterjee; I am an NRI and an Overseas Citizen Of India (OCI).  As a patriotic Indian, I was happy to invest over one million GBP (British Pounds) with the HDFC Bank, Mumbai, in FCNR FDs.  I was hoping for an honest dealing by this Bank.

The FD receipts dated March 6, 2015 showed that the funds were still in GBP and no lien was placed on them.  Yet, on March 21, 2015, Deepak Jaiswal of this Criminal Bank chose to steal the above GBP funds, using a forged My name is Samar Chatterjee; I am an NRI and an Overseas Citizen Of India (OCI). As a patriotic Indian, I was happy to invest over one million GBP (British Pounds) with the HDFC Bank, Mumbai, in FCNR FDs. I was hoping for an honest dealingby this Bank.The FD receipts dated March 6, 2015 showed that the funds were still in GBP and no lien was placed on them. Yet, on March 21, 2015, Deepak Jaiswal of this Criminal Bank chose to steal the above GBP funds, document.  Hence, this is a clear case of cheating and theft of foreign currency by the HDFC Bank, under Section 420 of the IPC.

On maturity of the said accounts,  I visited the HDFC Bank’s Mulund (W) Branch on March 21, 2015 to receive the proceeds of the FDs in foreign currency GBP by cheque.  The bank employee ( Deepak Jaiswal, who claimed to be the Head of NRI Services) processed my request and shocked me claiming that there is a lien on my FDs called the “FX-Booking Confirmation”.  This so-called lien has been fabricated by forgery and fraud by the HDFC Bank’s loyal employees, as affirmed in my Affidavit.  This illegal document was forged and kept secret from me since May, 2012.
Deepak Jaiswal and the HDFC Bank refused to accept my statement and chose to cheat me by illegally converting my foreign currency GBP deposits in Indian Rupees without my authorization.  They converted the foreign currency at an arbitrary fraud rate of Rs. 81.82 per GBP, which is well below the market rate of Rs. 101.03 per GBP.  Hence, the HDFC Bank and Deepak Jaiswal were cheating me of foreign currency worth  1,050,744.05 GBP while settling the proceeds of my matured FDs. This was clearly an act of cheating and fraud under Sections 420, 418, 463 and 415 of the IPC.
Please note that the alleged lien document not only contains a forged signature of me, but is also a fraud because it does not contain my address of record.  No proof was presented that the document was sent to me, and was returned by me duly signed, as claimed in the document.  There is also no proof that the said funds were ever offered for sale by me, nor did I ever agree to the forged Forward Cover.  The alleged Forward Cover contract has not been notarized, nor was it signed on each page by the contracting parties in presence of credible witnesses.  Hence, it is not a valid document and is clearly a product of fraud.  I was never informed when this document was created, nor did I receive a copy of the same.
The toxic nature of this fraud Forward Cover has been discussed by Sucheta Dalal of Moneylife Magazine whose investigation found HDFC Bank pitching toxic products to NRIs; see article below:
This fraud by HDFC Bank against me was hatched and commanded from the Mumbai Office of this Bank, as indicated in the document.  The document was created in Mumbai to cheat this Imperia customer with the help of other bankers like Anindita Das and her assistants like Rajdip Basu and Joy Majumdar who were also trained to secretly forge documents by the Mumbai Bank officials.  Deepak Jaiswal claimed that Rajdip Basu had met with me in Delhi to create this document, which is entirely false, since I had not seen this document in Delhi and had refused to accept any Forward Cover for the FDs.  Jaiswal also claimed that the GBP funds were sold on the market long ago to unknown party, which is also false.
The cheating and fraud propensity of the HDFC Bank has been outlined by another customer cheated by this Bank.  See the link below:
The funds to create the GBP FDs were paid by me to the Mumbai Worli Branch of the HDFC Bank during March, 2009, as indicated by the email record dated Nov 25, 2009.  Again on March 3, 2010, I requested the Mumbai Worli Branch to renew the FDs for 5 years.  The FD receipts were issued by the Chennai Office on behalf of the Mumbai Head Office and does not state the name of the branch, since FDs are the obligation of the Bank and not of any branch.
HDFC Bank has expressly allowed us “any branch banking” for the FDs.  All the legitimate transactions on these FDs were performed in Mumbai, including my customer no. 32171438 as well as the illegal forged document used to cheat me.  As such, the jurisdiction of this case is clearly in Mumbai.
The Mumbai Bank team, it seems, have employed some of the trained cheats working under the supervision of Anindita Das to forge the illegal documents; hence the criminals involved should be prosecuted under the Mumbai jurisdiction, since the actual fraud took place here in Mumbai.
I therefore request that the HDFC Bank be compelled to pay the entire defrauded amount of the GBP 1,050,744.05 to this victim. Plus, the Bank should be fined for fraud and be made to pay appropriate damages.  The criminals who committed the cheating and fraud be sent to jail at once.  I respectfully urge the Police and the Honorable Courts to refer the case to the CBI for prosecution of these criminals.  A copy of the Police Complaint is also attached below.  Thanks.
Warm regards.                 Samar Chatterjee
1616 Marion St NW, Unit 223, Washington, DC 20001. USA.
Phone. 202-670-5403 in USA.

3 thoughts on “CHEATING OF IMPERIA NRI CUSTOMER BY HDFC BANK USING FORGERY, FRAUD & TOXIC PRODUCTS

Leave a comment